Walk along sand dunes

Walk along sand dunes

A green walking trail along the Scheldt and Warandeduinen

Scheldeland has many wonderful hidden corners. Time to check them out for yourself! Our advice: start with the Stuifduin Wandelroute. This takes you along some gorgeous spots by the water, with lots of nature, refreshment opportunities and sand dunes. 

Yes, you read it right! After all, despite being miles from the sea, you can still get a sense of being close to the beach. Unique, don't you think? Join us for a wonderful tour through Scheldeland!

Kalkense Meersen Wetteren.jpg
Nature area Kalkense Meersen

Because the coast is not the only place to have sand dunes

The mainly flat Stuifduin Walking route of 11 km does a circuit around the Scheldt in Wetteren. You enjoy the proximity of water, an abundance of vegetation, beautiful vistas and the unique experience of towering dunes, far from the coast.

Sint-Gertrudiskerk Wetteren.jpg
St Gertrude's Church, Wetteren

St Gertrude's Church, Round arch style in Wetteren

St Gertrude's church dominates the landscape and is therefore among the attractions along the Stuifduin walking route. The present church was inaugurated in 1866. The monumental building has a high nave, two aisles and an integrated westerly tower. You discover a neo-Gothic decor and a combination of Romanesque, Gothic and Byzantine styles, explaining its Round arch style.

The church also accommodates a permanent puppet exhibition featuring 130 puppets in the original costumes of 130 sister congregations in Belgium. Fascinating!

Veer Schellebelle.jpg
Schellebelle ferry

Kalkense Meersen: beautiful quiet sanctuary

The Stuifduin Walking route also follows the perimeter of the Kalkense Meersen. A magnificent nature area and one of the last quiet sanctuaries in East Flanders. You will enjoy amazing views of the landscape with its diverse fauna and flora. 

At node number 20 you cross a meander of the Old Scheldt. In recent years the meander that had silted up has been uncovered, in order to restore the river nature of the Kalkense Meersen, and attract new flora and fauna.

The ferry at Schellebelle is a highlight of this route: ‘ring’ the ferry man or woman by pulling the bell.    

 

Den Blakken Wetteren.jpg
Provincial domain Den Blakken in Wetteren

Den Blakken: themed gardens, a rose garden and a maze

Provincial domain Den Blakken is a park covering 9.7 hectares with a variety of themed gardens, a rose garden and a maze. The domain surrounds the former 'Les Mélèzes' (de Lorken) Villa and is also a promotional centre for horticulture, roses and park trees.

 

Stuifduinen Wetteren.jpg
The Stuifduinen (Sand dunes) in Wetteren

The Warandeduinen or Stuifduinen

Beside Den Blakken you will find the dunes known as Warandeduinen, also called the Stuifduinen. Wasn't that the name of this walking route? Yes! Quite so, as the sand dunes are a spectacle in themselves. Admit it, who expects to find sand dunes of up to 17.5 metres in Wetteren?

Curious to know where those sand dunes came from? Then we must look back almost 12,000 years ago, when the rivers carved deep gullies in the sand, carried the sand away and deposited it further down. 

The result? Sand banks. The process continued and the westerly wind did the rest and turned the sand banks into sand dunes. The Warandeduinen in Wetteren are undoubtedly the finest examples along the Scheldt.

 

Stuifduinen Wetteren.jpg
The Stuifduinen (Sand dunes) in Wetteren

Pure enjoyment in a pure region

Walking is good for your health after all. The Stuifduin Walking route is much more than that. It is an attractive route along some unique places. This route is an excursion to look forward to, to somewhere you are sure to return. A route that allows you to gather your thoughts and which gathers the most beautiful parts of the region. What more could you want?

Come and try the Stuifduin Walking route for yourself, come to Scheldeland!

Want to download this route for free?

Would you like to download this route for free for your journey? View all stops and information related to the Stuifduin walking route on Routen.be. 

You can download the walking route as a PDF file to print out for your journey at the cycling and hiking website Routen. Or you can download it as a GPX file to display on your smartphone or GPS.

 

Want to download this route for free?

stuifduinen.jpg

Would you like to download this route for free for your journey? View all stops and information related to the Stuifduin walking route on Routen.be. 

You can download the walking route as a PDF file to print out for your journey at the cycling and hiking website Routen. Or you can download it as a GPX file to display on your smartphone or GPS.

 

Address
Wegvoeringstraat 308
9230 Wetteren
Length
10,8 km
Time
2u 15m
Terrain
68% Paved
Actions
View this route

Marcher le long des dunes mouvantes

Marcher le long des dunes mouvantes

Un itinéraire pédestre verdoyant le long de l'Escaut et des dunes de Warande

Le Pays de l’Escaut recèle également de nombreux merveilleux coins cachés. À vous de tous les découvrir ! Notre conseil : commencez par l'itinéraire pédestre Stuifduin. Il vous mène à de jolis endroits au bord de l'eau, pleins de nature, de restaurants et de dunes. 

Vous avez bien lu ! Car, même si la mer est à des kilomètres, la plage semble parfois toute proche. Exceptionnel, non ? Rejoignez-nous pour un merveilleux voyage dans le Pays de l'Escaut !

Kalkense Meersen Wetteren.jpg
Réserve naturelle de Kalkense Meersen

Parce que les dunes ne sont pas réservées à la côte

L'itinéraire pédestre Stuifduin fait une boucle de 11 km autour de l'Escaut à Wetteren, principalement en plaine. Vous profitez de la proximité de l'eau, de beaucoup de verdure, de vues magnifiques et de l'expérience unique de voir des dunes de plusieurs mètres de haut, loin de la côte.

Sint-Gertrudiskerk Wetteren.jpg
L'église Sainte-Gertrude à Wetteren

Église Sainte-Gertrude – Rundbogenstil à Wetteren

L'église Sainte-Gertrude domine le paysage, ce qui en fait l'un des pôles attractions de l'itinéraire pédestre Stuifduin. L'église a été consacrée dans sa version actuelle en 1866. L'édifice monumental comporte une haute nef centrale, deux nefs latérales et une tour ouest intégrée. Vous vous familiariserez avec un décor néo-gothique et une combinaison de styles architecturaux roman, gothique et byzantin, d'où le Rundbogenstil (style arc en plein cintre).

L'église abrite également une exposition permanente de 130 poupées portant l'habit traditionnel de 130 ordres monastiques féminins de Belgique. Fascinant !

Veer Schellebelle.jpg
Le bac de Schellebelle

Kalkense Meersen : une magnifique zone de silence

L'itinéraire pédestre Stuifduin longe également le Kalken Meersen, une splendide réserve naturelle qui est aussi l'une des dernières zones de silence de Flandre orientale. Vous profitez d'une vue imprenable sur le paysage, avec sa faune et sa flore diversifiées. 

À hauteur du point-nœud 20, vous traversez un méandre de l'Ancien Escaut. Ces dernières années, le méandre envasé a été dégagé, afin de restaurer le caractère fluvial du Kalken Meersen et d'attirer une nouvelle flore et une nouvelle faune.

Le bac de Schellebelle est le point d'orgue de cet itinéraire : vous « appelez » le passeur ou la passeuse en faisant tinter la cloche.    

Den Blakken Wetteren.jpg
Domaine provincial Den Blakken à Wetteren

Den Blakken : jardins thématiques, roseraie et labyrinthe

Le domaine provincial Den Blakken est un parc de 9,7 hectares comprenant plusieurs jardins thématiques, une roseraie et un labyrinthe. Situé autour de l'ancienne villa « Les Mélèzes », le domaine est également un centre de promotion de l'horticulture ornementale, des roses et des arbres de parc.

Stuifduinen Wetteren.jpg
Les dunes mouvantes de Wetteren

Dunes de Warande ou Stuifduinen

Juste à côté de Den Blakken, vous trouverez les dunes de Warande, également connues sous le nom de Stuifduinen ou dunes mouvantes. N'était-ce pas le nom d'une boucle pédestre ? Mais si ! À juste titre d'ailleurs, car les dunes mouvantes sont un spectacle en soi. Admettez-le, qui s'attend à voir des dunes de sable de 17,5 mètres de haut à Wetteren ?

Vous êtes curieux de savoir d'où viennent ces dunes mouvantes ? Il faut pour cela remonter à près de 12 000 ans, lorsque les rivières ont creusé de profondes ravines dans le sable, l'emportant avec elles et le déposant plus loin. 

Le résultat ? Des bancs de sable. Le processus s'est répété et le vent d'ouest a fait le reste, transformant les bancs de sable en dunes mouvantes. Les dunes de Warande à Wetteren, sont sans aucun doute l'un des sites les mieux préservés le long de l'Escaut.

Stuifduinen Wetteren.jpg
L'itinéraire pédestre Stuifduin à Wetteren

Un pur plaisir dans une région pure

La marche est une activité saine. Mais l'itinéraire pédestre Stuifduin est bien plus que cela. C'est un itinéraire visuellement attrayant, qui passe par des endroits exceptionnels. Cet itinéraire est un voyage que vous attendez avec impatience, dans un endroit où vous êtes assuré de revenir. Un itinéraire qui vous permet de vous recentrer sur vous-même et de découvrir les plus belles facettes de la région. Que demander de plus ?

Venez essayer vous-même l'itinéraire pédestre Stuifduin en visitant le Pays de l'Escaut !

Télécharger cet itinéraire gratuitement ?

Vous souhaitez télécharger gratuitement cet itinéraire pour le consulter en chemin ? Découvrez les différentes étapes et toutes les informations concernant l'itinéraire pédestre Stuifduin sur Routen.be. 

Sur le site d'itinéraires pédestres et cyclables Routen, vous pouvez télécharger l’itinéraire au format PDF et l’imprimer pour le glisser dans votre sac. Ou le télécharger sous forme de fichier GPX, afin de suivre le tracé sur votre smartphone ou votre GPS.

Télécharger cet itinéraire gratuitement ?

stuifduinen.jpg

Vous souhaitez télécharger gratuitement cet itinéraire pour le consulter en chemin ? Découvrez les différentes étapes et toutes les informations concernant l'itinéraire pédestre Stuifduin sur Routen.be. 

Sur le site d'itinéraires pédestres et cyclables Routen, vous pouvez télécharger l’itinéraire au format PDF et l’imprimer pour le glisser dans votre sac. Ou le télécharger sous forme de fichier GPX, afin de suivre le tracé sur votre smartphone ou votre GPS.

Address
Wegvoeringstraat 308
9230 Wetteren
Length
10,8 km
Time
2u 15m
Terrain
68% pavé
Actions
Voir cet itinéraire